The Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, Lawyer Kwaku Asomah Cheremeh has charged newly inducted Municipal and District Chief Executives to be law abiding and fair in the delivery of their duties as they assume their posts in their various assemblies.

Lawyer Cheremeh told the 24 out of the total 27 nominees to find their new roles as a privilege of representing the president, Nana Akuffo Addo. "You must see your appointment as a privilege to represent the president and the government at the local level to serve your people and therefore, it is expected that you will use the opportunity given you to drive the policies of our party and government as well as the developmental agenda of your district in collaboration with all needed stakeholders" he pointed out.

He said this during the swearing in of the 24 MMDCEs at the Residency on Friday,19 May 19.

The legal luminary stated that the Local Governance Act 2016 (Act 936) mandates chief executives as political, executive and administrative head of the assemblies. He however noted that,  the Regional Coordinating Council which has an oversight responsibility over the assemblies is ready to give the necessary knowledge and guidance to the MMDCEs to be able to deal with any challenge they will face in the course of their duty.

The 24 MMDCEs who were sworn in include Asutifi North- Hon Anthony Mensah, Asutifi South - Hon Dwomoh Mensah Robert, Tano North- Hon Ernest Kwarteng, Tano South - Hon Collins Offinam Takyi, Asunafo North- Hon Yaw Osei Boahen,Asunafo South - Hon Osei Bonsu Snr, SUNYANI East- Hon Dr. Evelyn Ama KUMI Richardson

Others were Sene west - Hon John Nyarba,  Atebubu -  Hon Edward Owusu,  Pru - Hon Stephen Jalulah,  Wenchi- Hon Dr. Prince Kwakye AFRIYIE,  Kintampo Municipal-  Hon  Micheal Sakodie Baffoe,  Kintampo South- Hon Alexander Gyan,  Techiman municipal- Hon John Donyina, Tachiman North- Hon Peter Mensah

The rest include Nkoranza Municipal- Hon  Atta-Kusiwaa  Diana ,  Nkoranza  north -  Hon Gifty Korsah Authur, Dormaa Central- Hon Drissah Ouattara, Dormaa east - *Hon Emmanuel  Kofi  Agyemang, Dormaa west - Hon Marry Ameyaa, Tain - Hon Charity Akua foriwaa Dwmmoh, Banda - Hon Mary kone, Jaman North - Hon Adane Ankomah,  and Jaman South - Hon Alhaji Abuu

The outstanding municipal/district assemblies are Berekum Municipal- Kofi Adjei, Sunyani West - Marthin Obeng, and Sene East - Abraham Mbanye

Post a comment